Week 3 Essential Question

Which emerging pedagogy appeals most to you and might be most useful for your classroom and students? Why?

At this point in my teaching career and my research on the topics I feel like a Flipped Classroom seems like the most doable for me.  Flipped classrooms appeal to me right away because of the opportunity students have to watch a video at home and then coming to class prepared to do an activity.  For myself, I am a visual learner.  I would have loved the chance to watch my teacher or Kahn Academy teach a topic before coming to class.  This gives students a preview of what is coming, they are already experts when they come to class.

I did find an article on how “Flipped Classrooms” don’t work.  The Flipped Classroom is a Lie  by  Teched Up Teacher cautions teachers to be careful when implementing  something entirely new.  New doesn’t always equal success.  I’m in agreement but I don’t know if he was exactly right in thinking that teachers will just jump right in with complete immersion to flipped classrooms.  Homework is really still homework, even if it is watching a video or interacting online with some content.  And of course their will still be students who don’t watch the videos.  He suggests a blended classroom environment where key concepts are recorded and provided for students to view.  This way if students do not get the concept during the class lecture they can then watch the video for reinforcement.

I’m pretty sure that most teachers would have this similar cautious approach to using this technique.  So if I had the opportunity to teach older students I would most likely use a blended flip classroom.  I see so many advantages for students being able to re-watch difficult concepts.

One advantage to MOOCS is that it gives students who need or want to have a full high school transcript, with AP courses, languages and even technology courses the chance to have a more diverse transcript. I can see this being especially useful for students who want to have these courses completed before college.  One of the things that kept popping up in the online articles was the fact that MOOCs are so often not completed, more research is needed on this to see what can be done to offer incentives for students to complete the tasks.  I also think that we need to be careful to remember that even 10, 11th and 12th graders are still children and we need to ensure that they are still given the opportunity to learn at their developmental level.  I believe Mr. Singer (Bock and O’Dea) was also trying to make this point as well. Mr. Singer reminds us that the focus of technology in education should be on the quality of instruction and not on the quantity of students.

I don’t see myself complementing MOOCs into my classroom right now, there just isn’t enough research right now to support the topic, especially in K-12 learners.

Resources

The Teacher’s Guide To Flipped Classrooms. (n.d.). Retrieved June 02, 2016, from http://www.edudemic.com/guides/flipped-classrooms-guide/ 

Aviles, C. (2014, Feb. 21). The flipped classroom is a lie. Retrieved June 02, 2016, from http://www.techedupteacher.com/the-flipped-classroom-is-a-lie/

Bock, M. & O’Dea, V. (2013). Virtual educators critique the value of MOOCs for K-12. Education Week Spotlight, (32)20, 10. Retrieved Juen 02, 2016, from http://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2013/02/06/20moocs.h32.html

Saltman, D. (2011). Flipping for beginners: Inside the new classroom craze. Harvard Education Letter, 27(6) Retrieved June 02, 2016, from http://hepg.org/hel-home/issues/27_6/helarticle/flipping-for-beginners_517

Thompson, G. (2013, September 5). Get Ready: MOOCs Are Coming to K-12 — THE Journal. Retrieved June 02, 2016, from https://thejournal.com/articles/2013/09/02/get-ready-moocs-are-coming-to-k-12.aspx 

3 thoughts on “Week 3 Essential Question

  1. akreadingteacher says:

    Melissa, The idea of flipped classrooms was very interesting to me too. I appreciate that you discussed the drawbacks of this approach. I can see the one you mentioned of the students not watching the videos….or students without internet access. How would you cope with that? Offering school time to watch would be an option, but our time is already packed. . . after school time? These are all ideas that I’ve been wondering about. I kind of crossed it off my list as not easily doable in a young elementary classroom, but maybe it’s something I should think more about. . . hmmmmm… so many great ideas, so little time 😉

    Like

  2. triciaturley05 says:

    Melissa, it makes the most sense to me to, to not jump in 100%, but take it slowly. Try flipped classroom some of the time and always be sure to follow up in class to ensure/reinforce the learning that was supposed to take place at home. At least, for the students who do complete their homework and watch the videos or study the content they are supposed to at home, their learning experiences should be richer, since they will have more time and opportunity to interact with the subject matter.

    Like

  3. Chris Aviles says:

    Hi Melissa!

    Many teachers won’t jump in with full immersion, instead choosing to onboard students into a flipped or blended classroom. However, some are so comfortable and excited by the idea that they will jump in with both feet. Both are fine. I think it comes down to teacher competency and comfort level.

    I jumped in with both feet. I set the tone by sending home a welcome video to parents and students before the school year started that explained what tools/techniques my class would use to expand their learning.

    Even since I’ve written that article a short time ago, the idea of watching a video has become much more widely used. The incorporation of self-made, flipped videos is a growing and valuable trend for our students. I hope you give it a try and I’d be happy to support you anyway I can!

    Chris
    @techedupteacher

    Like

Leave a Reply

